newadult

Review: A Shot of Reckless by Maddie Paige

Sunday, October 11, 2015Cupcake Queen

A Shot of Reckless
by Maddie Paige
Publisher: Elephantine Publishing
Format: Ebook
Release Date: October 14th, 2015
Purchase: [Kobo] [B&N] [Kindle]
Art major, Roxy Thompson, is a ball of fun—but she's also careful to keep her walls intact when it comes to men. She likes relationships just like her coffee: light and sweet. After having her heart shattered once before, she’s determined not to ever feel that broken again.

College senior, Lake Foster, is just tempting enough to make Roxy rethink her rules of engagement. Suddenly, high-dollar shots and a no-strings night out aren't enough anymore. But Lake isn't looking for long-term. His future is set, and in four months, he intends to graduate and leave Georgia—and everything in it—behind. Luckily, short-term fun is Roxy’s specialty, and Lake can’t resist what he promises will be a fleeting taste.

Will Roxy and Lake really walk away when their time is up? They only have one shot to find out.
     


“Something tells me there’s more than a little trouble involved with you.” 

Author duo Maggie Paige's debut and the new adult genre's latest, read quite differently from other stand alone titles before it. Written in the alternating perspectives of Roxy and Lake, their narrative voices were pragmatic and down-to-earth, offering a true realistic feel to their interactions and relationships with other characters. Immediately diving into A Shot of Reckless, readers are introduced to art major Roxy Thompson, lucky in the fun department but not so much when it comes to relationships. After suffering from heartbreak, she prefers to keep her conquests simply as that - conquests - but when she meets college senior Lake Foster, Roxy begins to rethink the rules she's set for herself. Is Lake Foster worth a shot of being reckless?

Readers who enjoyed Sadie Munroe's All It Takes and Jennifer L. Armentrout's Wait For You series, are certain to enjoy A Shot of Reckless by author duo Maggie Paige. Roxy and Lake are fun characters with an irresistibly charming pull to their personalities, and as expected from a sexy and steamy read, their growing relationship and struggles gripped me to the very last page. A perfect read for those looking for a new flirtatious couple to fawn over, A Shot of Reckless is an absolute must on all to read lists.




Rating: 
4 / 5 Cupcakes





This title was provided to the blogger by the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review. No payment was received/accept in exchange for this review/post. The blogger requests that this review not be reposted or edited with the blogger's permission. The thoughts and words expressed in this review/post are explicitly the blogger's.

You Might Also Like

5 comments

  1. Sounds like a sweet romantic read

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'll be sure to check this out. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the review Wendy

    ReplyDelete
  4. Always looking for something new to read. Interesting story.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Exciting! The release date is also around the corner. Thank you for keeping me in the know on upcoming books.

    ReplyDelete

Popular Posts

Contact Form