youngadult

Review: Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

Friday, March 04, 2016Cupcake Queen

Into the Dim
by Janet B. Taylor
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 432
Release Date:March 1st, 2016
Purchase: [Chapters/Indigo] [Amazon]
When fragile, sixteen-year-old Hope Walton loses her mom to an earthquake overseas, her secluded world crumbles. Agreeing to spend the summer in Scotland, Hope discovers that her mother was more than a brilliant academic, but also a member of a secret society of time travelers. Trapped in the twelfth century in the age of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Hope has seventy-two hours to rescue her mother and get back to their own time. Along the way, her path collides with that of a mysterious boy who could be vital to her mission . . . or the key to Hope’s undoing. Addictive, romantic, and rich with historical detail, Into the Dim is an Outlander for teens.



"The cheery tune drew closer, adrenaline sparked on my tongue with a metallic tang."

Personally, I felt that the fact that Into the Dim was pitched as "Outlander for teens" was quite misleading. If there's ever been a title that was closer to Outlander in the YA genre, it would likely be Lesley Livingston's Never series. By far, that's the closest (of what I've read thus far) that has come close to Diana's phenomenal (and timeless) series, though I'm certain there are many more titles out there that are far more similar in comparison. Even so, that isn't to say that Into the Dim was a disappointment. Into the Dim was rich in history, detail, and it's characters were exceptionally addictive.

"The snow had stopped during the night. Outside in the predawn, the London streets glowed oddly bright as a new coating of sugary snow reflected the expanse of stars above."

Into the Dim's protagonist, Hope Walton, was the unlikeliest of heroines. She was imperfect, but exceptional. Her personality, although it took me time to identify with her, shone quite brilliantly as I approached the ending of the book. It's fair to say that I'm anticipating Into the Dim's companion and cannot wait to see what Janet B. Taylor does with the series.

Perfect for fans of Kerstin Gier's Ruby Red, Into the Dim was an interesting take on time travel, was wholesomely addictive, and featured a promising tale for readers of all ages.



Rating: 
4 / 5 Cupcakes


This title was provided to the blogger by the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review. No payment was received/accept in exchange for this review/post. The blogger requests that this review not be reposted or edited with the blogger's permission. The thoughts and words expressed in this review/post are explicitly the blogger's.

You Might Also Like

5 comments

  1. I, too, felt that it wasn't similar to Outlander and that it was an unfair comparison. However just like you I enjoyed it quite a bit!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Katie Lynn Bassette4 March 2016 at 10:18

    Thank you for sharing your review today.
    I've had Into the Dim on my TBR pile since I first heard about it. Haven't read Outlander because there are so many books and they're huge, but I hope to read them all someday. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Bookish Willow4 March 2016 at 11:33

    Looking forward to reading this soon!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm so glad you enjoyed this book! It really was addictive, wasn't it? I totally didn't get the Outlander comparison AT ALL either. I saw quite a few people rating it lower on GoodReads because they were expecting teen Outlander and didn't get it. It's unfortunate since it's a fantastic book and can stand on its own without the misleading comparison.

    ReplyDelete

Popular Posts

Contact Form