event recap

Recap: Raincoast Books Teens Read Fall 2016 Preview

Tuesday, May 10, 2016Cupcake Queen


Saturday May 7th was a day I had been looking forward to for weeks! It was that time again for Raincoast Books' highly anticipated Teens Read preview, this time featuring this year's highly anticipated Fall YA releases. The wonderful Jenn (@LostinGreatBook) and Jenny (Ampersand Inc) hosted this year's Toronto event at the Deer Park Toronto Public Library. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a colorful room filled with picnic-like decor, treats, and goodies. The tables were all adorned with blanket-patterned table cloths, paper lanterns, an assortment of sugary treats and bookish-inspired buttons. I have to hand it to our bookish hostesses, they certainly know how to throw a gathering!

Settling in and enjoying treats before the start of the event.

As we settled in and caught up with our fellow book bloggers, it was time to begin the preview event. Participating through the Google Hangout, Melissa of Raincoast Books introduced all participants of this year's preview event and began telling us about this year's highly anticipated titles. Following along in our packets (included in our swag bags) I made note of some very exciting titles I absolutely cannot wait to read and share with you all!


Melissa of Raincoast Books introduces titles and Eileen Cook talks With Malice (in order from left to right).

Titles From the Preview I'm Highly Anticipating:
*all titles linked to Goodreads*


Chasing Truth by Julie Cross -
An upcoming title by one of my favorites, Julie Cross. This upcoming title from Entangled Teen is a mystery perfect for fans of Veronica Mars.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas -
This is the highly anticipated fifth installment in the Throne of Glass series. With that said, I'm definitely reading this. Also, the coloring book will be available around the same time of it's release!

The Cabin by Natasha Preston -
I absolutely adore murder-mysteries. The Cabin features a group of friends spending a fun weekend in the middle of nowhere, when suddenly two of their own is found dead. Eeep!

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova -
A tale of magic, witches, and history featuring a Latin female lead. It sounds absolutely wonderful!

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter -
Sarah's upcoming fairy tale and folklore inspired tale sounds positively enchanting! It's got a hint of everything and I cannot wait to dive into it!

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo -
This woman is AMAZING! There's no way I'm missing out on the sequel to Six of Crows!

Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige -
A Snow Queen retelling from the villain's perspective - love, love, LOVE!


When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore -
I have yet to read The Weight of Feathers (I certainly plan to), but the prose for When the Moon Was Ours is absolutely lovely! Hints of love, romance, and magic!

Nemesis by Anna Banks -
I'm a big fan of Of Poseidon, so it's a given I'll be giving Nemesis a read!

The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia -
I've enjoyed Kami's titles in the past, and cannot wait to read this Romeo/Juliet and Fast & Furious like title! It's been compared to the work of Katie McGarry!

Heartless by Marissa Meyer -
A retelling from the Queen of Hearts perspective of Alice in Wonderland? YES!

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill -
This upcoming title sounds positively thrilling, suspenseful, and features just about the most kick-butt heroine ever! Cannot wait!




Upcoming Titles You Need to Check out:
*all titles linked to Goodreads*



Other Titles:
*all titles linked to Goodreads* 



Swag from this year's preview event. (Thank you, Hayley, for gifting your copy of When the Moon Was Ours!)


After learning about this year's highly anticipated fall releases, readers were given the opportunity to listen in on Eileen Cook as she talked about her upcoming title With Malice, a title I absolutely cannot wait to get my hands on! After a quick Q/A session with Eileen, giveaway winners were announced, and readers were encouraged to break out into discussion on what titles they were most likely to pick up.

Overall, I positively enjoyed the Teens Read Preview event organized by Raincoast Books, Jenn and Jenny.  Thank you! It was informative, fun, and a wonderful chance to catch up with my fellow book bloggers. If you're interested in learning more about this fall's upcoming titles, feel free to check out the #TeensReadFeed hashtag on Twitter.



Happy Reading,


You Might Also Like

7 comments

  1. Looks like a fun day!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Bookish Willow10 May 2016 at 11:57

    I'm very excited for all these books! Thank you for the recap post :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. So many books I must add to my reading list. Thanks, Wendy!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Katherine Pinacho10 May 2016 at 12:11

    You received two books I'm very excited to start reading: Vassa in the Night and Labyrinth Lost. They sounds beautiful!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Katherine Pinacho10 May 2016 at 12:13

      That should have said sound beautiful.
      I'm just so overwhelmed by the list of books! Also Kami Garcia's new book sounds great too!

      Delete
  5. A lot of books I plan on picking up later this year. With Malice is an interesting one, too.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I had no idea Julie Cross is coming out with a new book. I really like her previous work!

    ReplyDelete

Popular Posts

Instagram

Contact Form